Jadavpur University Alumni Association, Delhi | Alumni Association National Council of Education, Bengal & Jadavpur University   Join & start Interacting
Register now, Join our forum

About JU ALUMNI Delhi Chapter


Bengal was the birth place of the national movement. In the wake of the British conspiracy in 1905 to divide Great Bengal, people rose to the occasion spontaneously and the popular wheel of Swadeshi Movement started rolling with unprecendented vigour. It was during this time -1906, the National Council of Education, Bengal (N.C.E. Bengal) was created to provide alternative education. N.C.E. Bengal was exclusively formed as an apex body to impart education in Literature, Science, Engineering and Technology entirely on national perspective. The original Technical Institute on N.C.E. Bengal was named the Bengal Technical Institute. The Calcutta Municipal Corporation under the able leadership of its patriotic Mayor, Deshbandhu Chittaranjan Das leased the present site of the Jadavpur University campus of N.C.E. where its engineering college was shifted in 1924 under the name of College of Engineering and Technology. Bengal (CET Bengal). Rishi Aurobindo Ghosh was the founder Principal and its founder father and teachers included Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore, Sir Gooroodas Benerajee, Ananda Coomarswamy, Surendranath Banerjee, Ramendra Sunder Trivedi, Radha Kumud Mukherjee, Benoy Kumar Sarkar, Sakharam Ganesh Deoskar, Raja Subodh Mullick, Rash Behari Ghosh and Acharya Prafullya Chander Roy.

The seed planted by these great sons of India blossomed into a full fledged university, the Jadavpur University in 1955 spearheaded by Dr. Bidhan Chandra Roy and Dr. Triguna Sen.

NCE Bengal conceived, institued and promoted the Jadavpur University which became a statutory University in the year 1955. It is primarily a Unitary University with only two affiliated colleges, i.e. Smt. Jawahari Devi Birla Institute of Home Science and Jadavpur Vidyapith College of Education. It has three distinct faculties Engineering, Science and Humanities, Major Departments under the Engineering Faculty include Computer Science, Electronics and Telecommunication, Mechanial, Electrical, Production Engineering, Civil, Chemical, Mathematics, Pharmacy and Geology. The Humanities Faculty has various departments including Bengali, Sanskrit, Economics, International Relations, History, Pholosophy, International Relations Comparative Literature etc. It is hoped that in not too distant future the Faculty of Medicine will adorn the University.

Alumni Association N.C.E. Bengal was established in 1921 which later became Alumni Association N.C.E. Bengal and Jadavpur Univerity. This was the first Alumni Association organized by any University in India. It has its Old Boys Home in the University Campus. It is professionally active and generous. It is a pride that many ex-students have excelled in their respective professions and have made dedicated and pioneering contributions to the betterment of the country. The Association dedicated the Indoor Stadium and the Sports Pavilion to the University.

The Alumni Association NCE Bengal and Jadavpur University has branches in all the important cities of India as well as Europe and America.

The Delhi Chapter of the Association commenced its function in 1956 as a Branch Association. Presently the Association has over 700 active members who are residing in Delhi and in the adjacent regions. They hold responsible positions in public and private sectors as well as in the academic institutions. The Delhi Chapter regularly organizes technical workshops and seminars on topics of national importance to propagate technical knowledge and exchange information as well as discharge its social responsibility as a group of concerned citizens. The Branch has been registered under the Societies Registration Act-XXI of 1860 under the Name and Style of National Council of Education Bengal and Jadavpur University Delhi Chapter bearing N.C.E. of Delhi Registration No. S-42440 dated the 9th May 2002.

In 1992, the then Delhi Chapter of the Association opened a Technical Management Centre (TMC) to utilize the vast professional experience available amongst the alumni in almost all fields. The Technical Management Centre (TMC) offers its services not only in engineering and technological area but also in general management and HRD. To disseminate knowledge and know-how, the TMC occasionally organizes training workshops, orientation courses and clinics.

To propagate and maintain national integration, brotherhood, friendship and cultural heritage and to encourage the talent of its members, the Alumni Association, Delhi Chapter regularly organize get-together, cultural functions and excursions.


1980 Responsibility of Engineers to Society Prof. Dr. P. Kundu
1981 Computer Applications in Engineering and Other Fields Shri Ajit K. Basak
1982 High Polymer in Today's World Dr. Siddhartha Ghosh
1983 Industrial Control and Instrumentation Shri Ajit K. Basak
1984 Development and Application of Personal Mini Computer Shri Ajit K. Basak
1985 Industrial Pollution Control Shri Dilip Kumar Biswas
1987 Energy Conservation and Co-Generation Shri Tarun kumar Gupta
1988 Ground Water Development and Management Shri Sisir Kumar Das
1989 Digital Network for Communication and Control Shri Rajat K. Dasgupta
1990 Frontiers of Polymer Technology and Application-Social Impact Shri Rajat K. Dasgupta
1991 Power Generation, Transmission and Utilisation an Enigma of 21st Century Shri Rajat K. Dasgupta
1992 Exploration and Utilisation of Ocean Resources Relevance to National Economy Shri Rajat K. Dasgupta
1993 Nuclear Power Impact of Energy, Environment and Economy Shri Swapan K. Chakrabarty
1994 Water Management The National Concern Shri Dipak Narayan Basu
1995 Information Technology in India : Issues and Prospects Catalyst for Development Shri Sakti K. Mukherjee
1996 Population Growth and Infrastructure Planning Challenge for Survival Shri Subir Baran Basu
1997 Energy and Economic Development, An Integrated approach Dr. Baladas Ghoshal
1998 Knowledge Based Society and Information Highway Shri Dipak Narayan Basu
1999 Public Sector in Transition Shri Subir Raha
2000 Dreams for India 2025 Shri Subir Raha
2001 Broadband Convergence Impact on Business & Society Shri Sudhindra K. Dube
2002 Infrastructure: An Integrated Approach to Economic Development Dr. Amalendu Datta
2004  Delhi Vision Issues and Challenges Shri Swapan K. Chakraborty
Home | About Us | Activities | Executive Committee | Life Time Members | Gallery | Register with Us | Useful Links | Contact Us
© copiright Alumni Association National Council of Education, Bengal & Jadavpur University - Delhi Chapter, 2014

Website by: WebXPRESS
  JU Alumni Association, Delhi